Danielle-Rose Author Review with Roshandra

My PLEASURE to introduce and share DANIELLE-ROSE interview and her Book she currently has AUTHORED.

Pink Rose Danielle Rose

What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always had a huge imagination and it’s been my dream for forever to be a writer. I tried several times to write a book, but never thought I could manage it. Then my husband bought me my own computer and told me he believed I could do it. I haven’t looked back since. I still pinch myself that I am actually doing this!

Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure that I do. If I have one, I don’t know what you’d call it! I write with my heart and my imagination. My characters stand out to me as real people. I feel like they show me who they are as I write and sometimes things twist in a way I didn’t see coming! I am an instinct writer, I guess.

How did you come up with the title?

They just seem to pop out at me. With my first book, I was writing a sentence in the book in which the hero was talking about the wild fire that always springs up between him and the heroine and it slammed into my heart. I suddenly thought, Wow! There’s my title! With my other books, I generally know the storyline and I brainstorm a little on possibilities until one suddenly feels really right. I have to love my title or I keep going until I find one that I do love!

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My books always carry the theme of true love. No matter what else is going on in the story, the hero and heroine find true love with each other. They belong together and nobody else fits them like the other person does. That is what I want to convey in every book. I hope every person searches for and finds true love in their life. I did and there’s nothing like it!

How much of the book is realistic?

I am very much a fan of unusual stories with magical or paranormal twists in it. My books still have a main basis in reality, but they have a little added element that makes them different as well. Although my first series has fairy godmothers and my second has ghosts, the main story is still set in a contemporary setting. So it is realistic and fantasy all at the same time!

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There is always a bit of me in my heroines! I don’t think you can help that. There are aspects of my characters that are totally different. They tend to write themselves. The hero in my third Fairy Tale Match book is going to be based a little on someone I know. He inspired the character to a degree. Mostly, I let the story unfold inside me. The events are totally my own imagination.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Romance books have influenced me the most. I loved them from the moment I started to read them. I love the passion and the true love aspects of the books. I also was hugely influenced by my favourite author as a child, which was Enid Blyton. She inspired my imagination and sparked my desire to write. I loved her books.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Peggy L Henderson has been an enormous support and help to me as I’ve begun my writing career. Her words of wisdom and encouragement have kept me going through times when I thought, Can I really do this? If it wasn’t for her, I might have folded. She has been incredible.

What book are you reading now?

The McKinnon: the Beginning by Ranay James.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I have found so many new people since I became an author myself. The host of this wonderful interview is just one of them. I have her book in my kindle, ready to read soon!

What are your current projects?

I am currently writing the second book of the Haunted by the Past series, which will be called Shadow of Suspicion and there is a third book planned in that series too. I also have lined up book three of The Fairy Tale Match series which will be called Phoenix Rising, with two further books planned in that series. I have a third series in the pipeline too. I have a lot heading your way!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members

The biggest support outside my family has definitely been Peggy L Henderson as I mentioned earlier. She’s been amazing. Also Bess McBride has given me some wonderful tips and advice.

Do you see writing as a career?

I do, but it’s also a vocation. I write because I love it. If I can earn a living from it too, so much the better.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I already made the change that I wanted to make before publishing the book. The ending didn’t feel quite right the first time I wrote it, so I changed some things and re-wrote the end and now it’s just as I want it. I really feel this last book has been the best one I’ve done so far.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It’s always been there from childhood. My mum used to read to me when I was little and then once I stared to read myself, it just snowballed. I fell in love with the written word and the telling of tales. I’ve been writing and making up stories my whole life!

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think every book brings its challenging chapters. Ones that just don’t come together easily! There will be ones I will always remember as being hair pullers. Besides that, my last book was very challenging as it was the first time I was writing a full on mystery. Working out all the elements of the plot and setting up the suspects took a lot of thought. But I loved every minute of it!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t have just one favourite author. There are so many books that I love. My favourites are ones that are unusual and heartfelt. Two of my favourite authors that fulfil that for me are Catherine Bybee and Shelly Thacker. Of course, I also love my friend Peggy’s books too. They are awesome.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I haven’t so far, but who knows in the future!

Who designed the covers?

My covers have been really interesting! The first two books were pre-made covers by a designer. I ordered a custom cover for my latest book, but she got backlogged on her workload and wasn’t able to do the cover for me. I tried ordering one from another person and they couldn’t do it because their computer wasn’t working so in the end I designed my own cover for Hidden in Shadows. I really loved doing it. I’ve done the cover for my next one too and will be designing my own from now on!

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Without a doubt, the edits! They give me the biggest headache. When the creative process is over and you have to start perfecting everything, it’s really tough. I think most authors feel the same!

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I have learned so much from becoming a writer. I have really opened up the creative doors in every way. I write my books, format them, design my covers and I did my own book trailer. I have enjoyed every aspect of it and leaned so much in the process. I have really come to believe that if you truly want to achieve something, don’t give up. You can do anything if you put your mind to it, even if others are telling you that you can’t. Believe in yourself! That’s probably been one of the biggest lessons I’ve learned.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you love writing, keep going. There will always be setbacks and people that don’t like your work, but never let that stop you. Don’t get put off by a bad review. We all get them. If you keep putting your heart into your writing and love what you do, that’s all that matters. You will find others that love what you do to and will be longing for your next book. Certainly never give up at the first hurdle!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I truly hope that reading my books has given you hours of enjoyment and that the characters are ones that will always stay with you. I hope you laughed, maybe had a tear here and there, and that the book touched your heart. It makes all the hours of writing, thought and hard work so worthwhile if someone has loved reading the books. I always love to hear from readers, so please feel free to get in touch!

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

I always make sure I research any aspect of the book that needs to be factually based. In my first book, I did a lot of research for one of my plot developments with the horses. It was important to get it right. In my latest book, I did a lot of research into the Regency period and Georgian houses. I needed to be able to paint a really vivid picture for the storyline. I love the research. I always end up learning something I didn’t know. Some of my other challenges have involved learning cover design and doing my book trailer. All of it is challenging, but when you create something magical at the end of it, the satisfaction is unbeatable. I feel amazing when it all comes together!

What books/authors have influenced your writing?

I would say that all romance writers have influenced my writing to a degree. I have loved so many books over the years. I hope someone will say the same of my books one day.

What genre do you consider your book(s)?

They are romance, without a doubt. Along with a bit of an unusual twist!

Have you ever hated something you wrote?

Not hated exactly, but there was a book I stared writing some years back that I just lost my way with. I never finished it, but who knows, maybe one day I will!

What is your favorite theme/genre to write about?

Romance every time. I love to add other things around it, but at the heart of the book there has to be a true love!

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Hidden in Shadows Cover4

I would love to. Here is an excerpt from Hidden in Shadows. I hope you enjoy it.

Stumbling along the coast road, she slumped down on a bench that overlooked the sea. Her gaze failed to register the waves as they tossed themselves onto shore. Kyle had wanted to buy her house, not once but twice. He’d lost out to the previous owners and then to her. She remembered Tiffany telling her how the Perkins had left terrified. Had Kyle been responsible for driving them away? Was he doing the same to her?

She thought of all the things that had happened, her lips thinning as her fury rose. It had to be. Kyle was trying to drive her away so he could buy the house when she put it back up for sale. Well, not in this lifetime! Shooting up from the bench, Jenna marched home. The pounding of her feet sounded like the beat of a drum preceding an army into battle.

She flew into the house, dropping her bag and the paint thinner to the floor before she stomped into the study. She barely registered the huge man working in the room with Kyle. Her whole attention riveted upon her tormentor.

“Why did you say nothing about having wanted to buy my house?” she demanded, her hands curled into fists.

Kyle spun around from the wall he’d been stripping. His shocked expression would have been comical in any other situation. Jenna didn’t find anything funny about it now.

“Who told you that?” he finally got out.

“Does it matter? It’s true isn’t it?” Jenna demanded, anger nearly choking her.

“Yes, it’s true. I didn’t tell you simply because it wasn’t important.” He clutched the scraper in his hand tighter, his knuckles turning white.

“Not important?” Her brow rose in question. He frowned at her deadly tone, his eyes full of confusion. “I would say it was more likely you didn’t want me to know so I wouldn’t guess what you were up to!”

“What the hell are you talking about?” He planted his hands on his hips, staring at her as if she’d lost her mind.

“Don’t deny it!” Her voice rose with increasing tempo. She waved her finger in his face, one hand firmly planted on her own hip. “Don’t you dare deny what you’ve been doing to me! I know your game. You did it to the Perkins too, didn’t you?” She stalked forward, practically shoving her face into Kyle’s increasingly confused and angry one.

“Look here, I haven’t the foggiest notion what you’re talking about!” He stabbed a finger towards her chest. “You need to sort out your facts before you go accusing people of things.”

“Really?” she snarled. She began ticking points off on her fingers. “Fact One, you wanted to buy this house, but was beat to it by the Perkins. Fact Two, they were driven from their home in terror, forcing them to sell. Fact Three, you wanted to buy this house again, but I beat you to it. Fact Four, odd things are happening here and I would bet money on it you’re behind them.” She glared at him triumphantly.

Links:

Book Trailer for Hidden in Shadows: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTngwYptOTU

Email: danielle.rosewest30@gmail.com

Blog: http://daniellerosewest.blogspot.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Danielle-Rose-West/451370021626958

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DRoseWest

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/daniellerosewes/pins/

2 thoughts on “Danielle-Rose Author Review with Roshandra

  1. Pingback: Danielle-Rose Author Review with Roshandra | booksbyroshandra

Leave a Reply

